STATE OF VERMONT
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL REGULATION

IN THE MA'TTER OF:

)
)
CMFG Life Insurance Company )
)

STIPULATION AND CONSENT ORDER

This Stipulation and Consent Order is entered this _E*.d:ly of April, 2019 by and between
CMFG Life Insurance Company (the “Company”) and the Vermont Department of Financial
Regulation (the “Department™).

WHEREAS, the C.ommissioner of the Department (the “Commissioner”) is responsible for
administering and enforcing the insurance laws of the State of Vermont, including 8 V.S.A.
§§ 11, 12, 15, 3665, 4723, and 4724; and

WHEREAS, after an investigation, the Department asserts that the Company has violated
the insurance laws, as set forth below; and

WHEREAS, the Company cooperated with the Department in its investigation by
responding to inquiries and providing documentary evidence and other materials; and

WHEREAS, the Company and the Department wish to resolve this matter without further
administrative proceedings or litigation; and

WHEREAS, the Company has agreed to make certain payments to the Department subject
to the terms and conditions of this Order, and take certain other actions; and

WHEREAS, the Company elects to permanently waive any right to a hearing and appeal
under the Vermont Administrative Procedure Act, Title 3, Chapter 25 of the Vermont Statutes
Annotated, the rules, regulations, and orders of the Commissioner, and any right to judicial review

by any court with respect to this Consent Order (the “Order”).



NOW THEREFORE, the Commissioner makes findings and conclusions as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Company is a foreign insurer with its principal place of business located at 5910

Mineral Point Road, Madison, Wisconsin 53705, NAIC #62626.

2. The Company is subject to the jurisdiction of the Commissioner pursuant to Title 8,

Chapter 101, Subchapter 2.

3. The Company consents to the entry of this Order.

4. At all times relevant to this matter, the Company operated as a licensed life insurer in
the State of Vermont.

5. In 2006, the Department and the Company (f/k/a CUNA Mutual Insurance Society)
entered into a Stipulation & Consent Order (“2006 Stipulation™) relating to the
Company’s failure to the pay the statutorily required interest rate on credit life claims,

among other violations.
6. Pursuant to the 2006 Stipulation, the Company was required to

a. audit its credit life insurance claims from January 1, 2001 through the date of the

2006 Stipulation and provide the Department a copy for approval;
b. pay the interest owed to the underpaid beneficiaries;
c. implement procedures to comply with 8 V.S.A. § 3665(c)(2) and (d); and
d. pay a $1,000.00 penalty with regard to the credit-life violation (the total penalty
ordered pursuant to the 2006 Stipulation was $15,500.00).
7. The Company has complied with the 2006 Stipulation regarding its credit life business,

and has also paid the six percent (6%) statutory interest rate on life insurance claims

relating to Vermont insureds since 2006.



8.

10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

Beginning in August 2017, the Department conducted a review of the Company’s life
insurance claims pertaining to policies issued in Vermont, as well as claims paid to
Vermont residents for the period January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2016 for
individual and group policies.

As aresult of this review, the Department discovered that 18% of the Company’s claim
payments included insufficient interest payments to Vermont-resident beneficiaries.

The Department subsequently required an additional review and restitution period
beginning August 8, 2006 and ending December 31, 2016.

The data ultimately produced by the Company evidences 213 instances of underpayment
pursuant to Vermont’s statutory interest payment requirements, 154 of which occurred
after publication of Bulletin 159 (Nov. 30, 2010), which clarifies the Department’s
application of 8 V.S.A. § 3665 to life insurance claims when the policy was delivered or
issued for delivery in Vermont, the beneficiary is a Vermont resident at the time of death,
or the group policy is issued outside of Vermont but the certificate was delivered or
issued for delivery to a Vermont resident who is a Vermont resident at the time of his/her
death.

Those 213 incidents involved a total of $16,294.13 in underpayments to beneficiaries.
The 154 claim payments following the Department’s publication of Bulletin 159 involved
a total of $12, 054.86 in underpayments to beneficiaries.

The Company admits that it did not apply the 8 V.S.A. § 3665 interest rate to life claims
other than those relating to Vermont insureds until after another state performed a market
conduct examination in 2014 and found that the Company used only the insured’s state
of residence in its interest rate calculation.

The Department’s investigation also revealed that the Company had failed to verify that



15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

the interest amounts it paid as part of the life insurance death claims process were

consistent with Vermont regulation and that the Company did not have adequate systems

in place to prevent such errors.

The Company did not consistently identify and remedy claims interest-payment failures

across all life insurance product lines after the 2006 Stipulation relating to its credit life

business.

Company staff have been cooperative and responsive to the Department’s requests,

acknowledged the statutory violations, initiated a self-audit without Department order,

and paid restitution in the amount of $16,294.13, representing underpayments to 213

beneficiaries on claims dating back to 2006, which restitution was completed in 2017.

Since the audit period, the Company has implemented controls to prevent such errors and

has engaged in ongoing self-audit and remediation throughout the implementation

process, which has been completed and reported to the Department prior to the entry of

this Order.

The Department finds that these violations caused financial harm to consumers.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Pursuant to 8 V.S.A. §§ 11, 12, 15, 3665, 4723, and 4724, the Commissioner is charged

with enforcing the insurance laws of the State of Vermont.

Pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 3661, the Commission may impose a civil administrative penalty
for each violation of Title 8, an administrative rule of the Department, or an order of the
Commissioner relating to insurance. Violations are subject to an administrative penalty

of up to $1,000 per violation.

Pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 3665(a), an insurance company is responsible for payment of any

consequential damages caused by improper delay in payment or settlement of claims to



beneficiaries.

22. It is a violation of 8 V.S.A. § 3665(c)(2) to fail to provide, as part of the payment of a
life insurance policy claim, the interest that by law accrues from the date of death at a

rate of 6%.

23. The Department published Insurance Division Bulletin 159 on November 30, 2010,
addressing jurisdictional issues for life insurance with a nexus to multiple states: “[I]t is
the Department’s position” that the statutory interest rate is required to be paid in all of

the following situations:

a. When the individual or group policy was delivered or issued for delivery in
Vermont, regardless of whether the beneficiary resides in Vermont at the time of

death of the owner or certificate holder;

b. When the beneficiary resides in Vermont at the time of the death of the owner or
certificate holder, regardless of where the group or individual policy was issued;

and

c. When the group policy was issued outside of Vermont, but the certificate was
delivered or issued for delivery to a Vermont resident who is also a resident of
this state at the time of his or her death.

24. Tt is a violation of 8 V.S.A. §§ 4723, 4724(19) to fail to comply with any rates, rules,
regulations, or forms filed with the Commissioner.

25. Pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 4726, the Commission may impose a civil administrative penalty
for each violation of Title 8, Chapter 129. Violations are subject to an administrative
penalty of up to $1,000 per violation.

26. By failing to pay required statutory interest on 154 death benefit claims from November



30, 2010 through December 31, 2016, the Company committed 154 violations of 8
V.S.A. § 3665(c) and 154 violations of 8 V.S.A. §§ 4723, 4724(19). The post-Bulletin
159 violations were similar in substance to the violations for which the Company had
already paid an administrative penalty in 2006, and the Company learned of these
violations years before the Department’s review and did not report or remedy the
deficiencies. For these reasons, the violations are committed with notice and knowledge
of the Company’s obligations under § 3665(c).

27. Altogether, the Company has committed 154 violations of 8 V.S.A. § 3665(c) and 154
violations of 8 V.S.A. §§ 4723, 4724(19), which together carry a potential

administrative penalty of $308,000.

CMEFG Life Insurance Company

By:'\\i)m% Lo da Date: ‘4[ N l&o\c)

Lisa Wagner, Vice Prelident

/A%CEPTED&BY: // /

Michael S. Pieciak, Commissioner
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation




CONSENT ORDER

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the Company’s stipulation and on the Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law, the Commissioner issues the following Order:

1.

If the Company fails or neglects to comply with any of the terms, conditions or
undertakings set forth in this Stipulation and Consent Order, the Department may, upon
written notice to the Company, institute any legal or administrative proceedings it deems
appropriate to enforce same and to seek such other appropriate sanctions, and the
Company shall consent to the entry of judgment for any unpaid balance.

The Company’s future failure to pay the statutorily prescribed amount of interest on a
death benefit claim—whether the claim pre- or post-dates this Order—shall constitute a
“willful” violation pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 3661(a)(3) and § 4726(b) and will be subject to

a heightened penalty amount.

. The Company shall pay an administrative penalty in the amount of $231,000.00 to the

Department within thirty (30) days of the execution of this Stipulation and Consent
Order.

The Company has implemented or shall implement the following corrective actions
(“Corrective Action Plan” or “CAP”):

a. Update the rate parameters in the Company’s claims system for Vermont to
ensure compliance with all Vermont laws, Regulations, Orders, and Bulletins,
including Bulletin 159.

b. Create documented procedures for the review of interest rate laws and regulations
and for integration of changes to the claims system. Procedures that have been
implemented voluntarily are described in Exhibit A, “Claims Interest Job Aid”

document; and Exhibit B, “Claims and Claims Interest Requirements Job Aid,”



€.

which includes sample screen shots of the new laws and regulations review

process described therein.

Capture within the claims system the details of any changes or updates to rate
parameters, including date and name of the individual performing the change or

update, as reflected in Exhibit C, “Vermont State Interest Table.”

Perform regular (no less than quarterly) Company audits of death claim
procedures and interest rate calculations involving Vermont claims and provide
the full results of those audits to the Administrative Insurance Examiner at the
Department without demand for a period of two years. The Department shall
have sixty days from the date of receipt of each audit results to notify the
Company of any issues or concerns. If the Company timely reports and has no
incidents, or resolves all incidents to the Department’s satisfaction, during the
two-year period beginning with the date this Order is executed, this reporting

requirement terminates.

Comply with all Vermont laws, Regulations, Orders, and Bulletins.

. The Company shall conduct a self-audit no later than July 31, 2019 to ensure compliance

with the CAP and Vermont law. The full results of the self-audit, including detailed

information regarding all Vermont life-insurance claims and payments made, must be

reported to the Department by August 31, 2019.

. The Company must obtain the Department’s prior written approval to make any changes

to the CAP.

. All expenses incurred by the Department in reviewing CAP compliance will be billed

back to the Company.

. Nothing in this Order shall be construed as limiting the Commissioner’s authority to



10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

investigate the Company for matters not resolved by this Order or for matters unrelated to
this Order.
Nothing herein shall be construed as limiting any private action a person may have.
The Company consents to the entry of this Order and acknowledges its consent is given
freely and voluntarily and that no promise has been made to induce it to consent except
as otherwise stated herein.
The Company acknowledges it has been represented by counsel in this matter and
voluntarily waives its right to an administrative hearing on this matter and to judicial
review of this matter.
The Company further acknowledges the Commissioner retains jurisdiction over this
matter for purposes of enforcing this Order.
This Order shall be governed by and construed under the laws of the State of Vermont.
This Order is entered into solely for the purpose of resolving this matter and is not
intended to be used for any other purpose.

CONSENT BY CMFG LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
The Company hereby admits the jurisdiction of the Commissioner over the subject matter
of this proceeding and knowingly and voluntarily waives its right to a hearing before the
Commissioner or his designee and all other procedures otherwise available under
Vermont law, the rules of the Department, the provisions of Title 3, Chapter 25, or any

right it may have to judicial review of this matter.

The Company certifies that the Findings of Fact are accurate and complete, that it has
reported to DFR all failures to pay the proper interest amount on a life insurance policy,

and that full restitution has been paid to all impacted beneficiaries.

The Company admits to the existence of the violations set [orth in this agreement as



identified in the Department’s findings and conclusions.

4, The Company acknowledges this Order constitutes a valid order duly rendered by the

Commissioner and agrees to be bound by it.
5. The Company acknowledges and agrees this Order is entered into freely and voluntarily.
6. The Company acknowledges its understanding of all terms, conditions, and obligations
contained in the Order and further acknowledges that should it fail to comply with any
provision of the Order, the Commissioner may impose additional sanctions and seek
appropriate relief subject to the Company’s right to a hearing pursuant to Vermont
insurance laws.

S.%
Entered at Montpelier, Vermont this / day of April, 2019.

7/

Michael S. Pieciak, Commissioner
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation




CUNA

Claims Interest Job Aid SQ MUTUAL
CRS State Interest — Issue State/Exception States - GROUP

INSURANCE o SERVICES
ASSET MANAGEMENT

Common Purpose. Uncommon Commitment.

In September 2016, changes were made to the state interest calculator for the Face to Face policies as it relates
to the product rules. State interest will continue to be calculated based on the greater of the state rule or
product rule. However, if the Face to Face palicy is issued on or after 1/1/1996, state interest will be paid from
proof date to payment date; policies issued prior to 1/1/1996, state interest will be paid from date of death
(DOD) to payment date. This excludes Universal Life/Variable Universal Life (UL/VUL). For UL/VUL, state interest
will be paid from date of death to payment date regardless of the issue date. The above changes were made to
ensure state interest is calculated based on cantract provisions.

On November 23", another state interest change will be implemented as a result of the state regulatory review
completed earlier in 2016. The changes are as follows:

1) Use the ISSUE state rather than INSURED resident state to determine the state pastmortem interest.

2) Recognize and adhere to state exceptions that require us to calculate interest by taking the greater of
the ISSUE state, INSURED resident state and all of the BENEFICIARY states. This will automatically be
determined in CRS. Currently, the exception states are: GA, IN, MN, MS, NE, OH, VT, WA, WV, & WI.

The following changes have been made to the ‘Calculate Interest’ screen:
1. The Insured Resident State and Issue State fields are switched

2. Added two new fields in the Interest Summary:
e Interest State
e [nterest Relationship
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For Internal Use Only - materials copyright 2011 CUNA Mulual Group.
Not to be distributed outside of CUNA Mutual Group



o INTEREST STATE field will display the state that won the “greater of” calculation and whether it is the
‘Issue’ state (default) or if it was an ‘Exception’ state.

« INTEREST RELATIONSHIP field displays which state relationship won the “greater of” calculation. It will
display either ‘Issue State’, ‘Insured Resident State’ or '‘Beneficiary State’.

Here are some examples below:

a. Non-Exception State - Interest was calculated using the Issue State (default). In other words, the Issue
state, Insured Resident state or any of the Beneficiary states did not include an ‘exception’ state.

| InteresiState | Interest Retalion..

1280¢& -] Issue Stale

b. Exception State - Interest was calculated taking the greater of Issue state, Insured Resident State and all
the Beneficiary states. This means that at least one of the states was an ‘exception’ state. The winner
was WI, which was the Resident state.

Interest State Interest Relstion... |

rsreater of - Resigent Slate

New CRS pop-up messages have been added

CRS is programmed to identify situations where the interest will need to be calculated manually and will identify
the appropriate state to use when calculating interest. This information will be provided in a pop-up message in
CRS when the "Calculate Interest" button is selected.

In most cases, state interest will be based on the policy issue state; however, there are some exceptions where
the state wili take into consideration the insured's and/or the beneficiary's resident state.

1. When there is an ‘Exception’ state included and interest needs to be calculated manually, CRS will
display a pop up a message instructing the user to calculate interest using the greater of Issue State,
Insured Resident State and each Beneficiary State.

ookl

Product ot found in 1Q for CRS Plan Code- ISWLN2Q06 and Company Number-
51 combination. Calculate manually using greater of Issue State, Insured Resident

State and each Beneficrary Resident State.

a. Refer to the Manual State Interest Spreadsheet (KM1009387) for instructions on how to
calculated the state interest due

2 CUNA
© CUNA Mutual Group, 2011 ‘.2 (IQ;IIRI.(J)BEAL

INSURANCE « SERVICLS
ALY MARAGINTAY



2. When an exception state is not included, CRS will pop up a message to calculate interest manually using
" the Issue State.

CRS RN | P X

Product not found in K} for CRS Plan Code- ISWLN2Q06 and Company Number-
5t combination, Calculate manually using Issue State,

a. Refer to the Manual State Interest Spreadsheet (KM1009387) for instructions on how to
calculated the state interest due

3. If the Beneficiary state field is not populated in CRS, the below pop up message will display:

[

|

a. Update the Beneficiary state field In CRS and recalculate.

4. If the Issue state is a Military state (AA, AE or AP) and Issue State and/or Beneficiary state is a non-
exception state, the below pop up message will display:

I e, SOV SRR e

State Interest Calculation & not set up ¥or this Issue State.No calculation is
conducted. ]
= s,
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Currently, we calculate interest for only ‘death’ claims. The below message appears in CRS when trying to
calculate interest on a non-death claim.

R . )

State fnterest Calculation is not set up for a non-death ¢laim ;

In our state interest review, we discovered some states require state interest on non-death claims, too, such as
Hospital Indemnity, Hospital Accident and Disability Incame. Effective December 1, 2016, begin using the
manual spreadsheet to determine if state interest is applicable for non-death claims as well.

4 CUNA
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Katry Graham § | CUNA MUTUAL GROUP

Sr. Compliance Operations Consuitant
Telephone: 608.665.7008

E-mail: kathy.graham@cunamutual.com CMFG Life Insurance Company
Fax: 608.236.7008

May 8, 2018

Isabelle Keiser

Administrative Insurance Examiner

Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
89 Main St, Second Floor

Montpelier, VT 05620

Re: Life Death Benefit Self Audit

Dear Mrs. Keiser:

This letter is in response to your e-mail dated May 3, 2018 requesting clarification on the
job aid provided and how interest is paid. The Company response follows:

The Job Aid document provided to you on May 2 does not describe the entire process
for calculating interest on all life claims. The Job Aid was used to communicate updates
to employees regarding existing processes in 2016, per your request for documentation
of, “changes that have been made to correct the company systems” and “plans that the
Company has made to prevent this from happening again.”

The first paragraph of the Job Aid, which is the subject of your question, was a separate
update regarding the product rules for Face to Face products that was communicated to
employees at the same time as the state-specific interest requirements. The entire
claims interest calculation process results in payment of the highest rate applicable in a
claim after comparing both the product rules and state interest requirements. For your
reference, the print screen below highlights the combined, Vermont-specific
considerations as they are displayed to employees calculating claims interest on
individual life products sold through the face to face channel:

P.O. Box 391, 56910 Mineral Paint Road =« Madison, Wl 53701-0391
Business; 608/238-5851 = Voice/TDD; 800/356-2644 = Fax: 608/238-0830



05/08/18
2

Claim State Interest Requirements

Vermont bl S

FACE TO FACE - mnhdes Company codes 01 06
Sebact by Policy lseua Date

Issue Date before 1/1/1996.

‘It Pollcy fusue State Is VT or it Benaflciary or Insured resides in VT, then

Individual Life iy the Grealer ol ’

1) Date of Death to Payment date (up to. 30 days after Prool 1s recesved) 3t OPTION rate o7

71 Date of Death to Payrment date (up to 30 days after Prool Is recenved) a1 8% or

11 Payment Date 1s grealer than 30 days fram when proof is received (Proof » 30) \hen pay
* Greater of ether the OPTION rate or 6% fram Date of Dealh lo up to Praof ¢ 30 days plus
" 12% (Judgement rale) from Proof ¢ 10 days to Payment date or

1) Date of Death 1o Payment Date sl OPTION 1ate or

i,j Date of Death to Payment Date af Guaranieed Praduct rate

[1ssue Date after 1/1/1986:

‘I Policy lasus State Is VT or if Senaficlary or insured resides in VT, then

Fay Greater ol

1) Date of Death to Payment date (up lo 30 days after Proof 15 recened) at OPTION rate, or
21 Oate of Death ta Paymem date (up to 30 days aRer Prool is recened) at 6% or

3) ¥ Payment Date 15 greater than 30 days Irom when proof rs recerved (Proof + 30), then pay
* Greater of edher the OPTION rate or 6% trom Dale of Death to up (0 Proof + 0 days, plus
* 2% (Judgement rafe) from Proaf + 30 days 1o Payment dale’ or

1) Date of Prool to Payment daie & OPTION 1ate, or

1 Dale of Proof to Payment dale # Guaranteed Product rate

Based on the course of our correspondence, there appear to be outstanding questions
and issues regarding our various life products and processes. Please let us know if it
would be helpful to regroup by phone with the larger group to discuss any remaining
issues, now that we have completed our audit and the related remediation payments.

If further information or clarification is required as to what we have provided herein, please
contact me at 1-800-356-2644, ext. 665-7008. Thank you.

Sincerely,

='—‘3”<::£ Qﬁ- C&’j@ﬂw Y7

Kathy Graham
Sr. Compliance Operations Consultant

KG



Exhibit B

Requirements

Claims & Claims Interest A

Job Aid

' CUNA
'MUTUAL
GROUP

(]

What are Claims Interest Requirements?
States set forth standards for investigating and claims
settlement for policies or certificates issued in their state.
Requirements can vary by state, product and where the policy
or certificate was issued.

Insurers are required to pay a benefit after receiving
notification of a claim and documentation to support proof of
death, disability, involuntary unemployment, etc.in a timely
fashion. Interest requirements are typically intended to
penalize an insurer when there is a delay in making a
payment to the beneficiary/claimant. However, there are few
states where interest must always be applied to the claim
benefit and is not related to whether there is a delay.

Who should | engage when there is a change or
question regarding the interest requirements and/or a
regulatory change specific to claims or claims
process?

Business
Operations
Contact
(BOC)

Business
Compliance

Contact
(BCC)

Why 2
CUNA Mutual is dedicated to paying claims
according to the regulatory requirements set forth
by each state in a timely manner and ensure the
state mandated interest is paid to the customer
accurately.

Claim process and interest applied is an area where
we anticipate continued focus in market conduct
exams,

What is the review process relating to

new laws/regulations affecting Claims?
NLR Acquisition reviews and analyzes the
law/regulation to determine if claims and/or LTC
product is impacted. If claims are affected, a task
will be assigned to the impacted BCCs. One of the
BCC's will perform an initial assessment and
engage other BCCs to discuss the applicability
and reach an agreed upon interpretation prior to
communicating to Claims, The BCC who takes
the lead will meet with the BOC to review the
law/regulation and follow with a communication
and assigh an assessment to capture confirmation
regarding implementation.

Where can | get more information?
If you have questions on how we are applying the
interest requirements or regulatory requirements,
please contact one of the BCCs listed.

If you have questions on the topic or process,

If you are aware of a change of contact, please
inform NLR Acquisition to update this document.

TruStage - Life | Mindy) | | Claims=Donna .
‘& Health i, 7 | e
Wealth Mindy Claims — Donna
Management — -
Annuities
Commercial — Laura™ { ~ |'Claims —Donna.
‘Business e |1 ] | ;
Protéction ae please contact: _
: g Topic Owner: Mindy
Commercial - Cindy Claims ~ Donna Process Owner: Jan
Lending &
Payment
Security
Dos and Don'ts of Claims Interest Requirements
DO:

s Reach out to other BCCs to determine applicability and agreed upon interpretation prior to communicating.
e Collaborate with Claims to review regulatory change and reach an agreed upon action plan.

DON'T:
» Forget to update the Claims Interest Summary.

e Close your assigned responsibility until you have verified necessary changes have been implemented for

the product(s) you support.

Version #: 1
Version Date: January 22, 2018
NLR Acquisition/Aulhor: Jan !



Exhibit B: Screen shots of new laws and regulations intake and documentation

Step 1:

Notifications received via email alerts from various trade organizations, AlA, ACLI, Wolters Kluwer
{OneSumX NILS Insource).
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Step 2:
Entry to Compliance 360 and task assignment to business partner:

ITEM EDIT 2
I
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Exhibit C: Vermont State Interest Table

Claim State Interest Requirements

Vermont
Line of Business Interest Rule

Select interest rule by distribution channel:

DIRECT RESPONSE - includes Company codes 21, 41, 51, 81

If the Policy's Issue State is VT or if Beneficiary or Insured resides in VT, then
Pay Grealer of:
1) Dale of Death to Payment date (up lo 30 days after Proof is received) at OPTION rate, or
2) Dale of Death lo Paymenl date (up 1o 30 days afler Proof is received) at 6%, or
3) If Payment Date is greater than 60 days from when proof is recejved (Proof + 60), then pay
* Grealer af elther the OPTION rale or 6% from Date of Death to up to Proof + 60 days, plus
* 12% (Judgement rate) from Proof + 60 days to Payment date, or
FACE TO FACE - includes Company codes 01, 06
Salect by Policy Issue Date:
|lssue Date bofore 1/1/1886:
Individual Life
‘If Policy Issue State Is VT or if Beneficiary or Insured resides in VT, then
Pay the Grealsr of;
1) Dale of Death to Payment date (up to 30 days after Proof is received) at OPTION rate, or
2) Date of Death to Payment date (up {o 30 days afler Proof Is received) at 6%, or
3) If Payment Dale is greater than 60 days from when proof is received (Proof + 60), then pay
* Grealer of either the OPTION rale or 6% from Date of Dealh to up to Proof + 60 days, plus
*12% {(Judgement rale) from Proof + 60 days 1o Payment dale, or
4) Date of Dealh fo Payment Date at OPTION rale or
5) Date of Death to Payment Date al Guaranteed Product rate
Issue Date after 1/1/1996:
'If Policy Issue State is VT or if Beneficiary or Insured resldes in VT, then
Pay Greater of:
1) Date of Death to Payment date (up to 30 days after Proof |s recetved) at OPTION rate, or
2) Date of Death to Payment dale (up to 30 days after Proof Is recelved) at 6%, or
3) If Payment Dale is greater than 60 days from when proof is received (Proof + 60), then pay
. * Greater of either the OPTION rate or 6% from Date of Death to up to Proof + 60 days, plus
*12% (Judgement rate) from Proof + 60 days to Payment date, or
4) Dale of Proof to Payment date at OPTION rate, or
5) Dale of Proof to Paymeni date at Guaranteed Product rate
Includes Company codes 01, 06
Refer to Indlvldual Life / Face fo Face: (click button below)
4
Individual Life Face to Face 1
Variable Life Issuo Date Befors 1/1/1996 |
See Slale Specific VUL tab for detaits regarding the business decision to utilize the Individual Life
/ Face to Face inlerest rules.
VUL ]
Life Interstate Compact efer lo the Life Interstate C acl Tab
If the Policy's Issue State is VT or If Beneflciary or Insured resides In VT, then
Pay Greater of:
1) Dale of Death lo Payment date (up to 30 days after Proof is received) at OPTION rate, or
Group Life 2) Date of Death to Payment date (up to 30 days afler Proof Is recelved) at 6%, or
p 3) If Payment Dale is greater than 60 days from when proof is received (Proof + 60}, then pay
* Greater of elther the OPTION rate or 6% from Dale of Death to up to Proof + 60 days, plus
*12% (Judgement rate) from Proof + 60 days to Paymenl date

Document Manager:

Description

aura - Slate Ulllity Revisions: Rewvised Direcl Response, Face lo Face Lile - State, Flxed
12/16/2016 Annull- - -1d added Variable Annuities.
Laura ~Changed Penally requirament lram Prool + 30 days 1o Prool + B0 days In stale

6/28/2018 interast ulllity and lo the rules above.







