
(Printable Reference Tool) - Print on legal sized paper DFR Captive Insurance website

See Title 8:  Banking and Insurance/Chapter 141:  Captive Insurance Companies Vermont Statute Title 8 Chapter 141

Filing √ Description Due Date **/Date Submitted
VERMONT CAPTIVE ANNUAL REPORT 
(VCAR)

Submit one unsecured PDF (reference captive name and license # in file 
name)

Follow VCAR general instructions
Submit completed Excel file (reference captive name and license # in file 
name)

Electronic Address:  DFR.CaptiveFinancialFilings@vermont.gov 

If December 31 Year End Use Excel VCAR Form Prior to 3/15 **
(as of 12/31/xxxx)

Signed and notarized Jurat Page (verified by oath of two of its executive 
officers)   Please see temporary guidance on notarization here:

Temporary Notarization Guidance

Copy of executed Vermont Premium Tax Return (Link to myVTax at 
bottom of this page)

Use Excel VCAR IPC Form - for required separate reporting by 
Incorporated Protected Cells
Use Excel VCAR Supplemental Form - for required separate 
reporting for each insurance subsidiary or unincorporated protected 
cells by contract.
For Fiscal Year End filers - Copy of executed Vermont Premium Tax 
Return (Link to myVTax at the bottom of this page) AND VCAR page 5 
as support of the reported premium written for the calendar year.

Or If Fiscal Year End Use Excel VCAR Form Within 75 days after fiscal year end
(as of Fiscal Year-end date)

Signed and notarized Jurat Page (verified by oath of two of its executive 
officers )  Please see temporary guidance on notarization here:

Temporary Notarization Guidance

LICENSE RENEWAL FEE $500 payable to: Vermont Department of Financial Regulation; 
include License #/Captive Name On or before 4/1

All Filers Mail to: VTDFR-Captives, 89 Main St, Drawer 20, Montpelier, VT  05620-3101

(annually) or by Wire:  for confirmation of Wire Transfer Instructions contact  (802) 828-3304

AUDIT Submit one unsecured PDF (reference captive name and license # in file name) On or before 6/30
Audited Financial Statement Electronic Address:  DFR.CaptiveFinancialFilings@vermont.gov 

If December 31 Year End Certified By Vermont Approved CPA

Audited Financial Statement, including:

Audited Financial Statement and Statement of Actuarial Opinion Submittal Form

Report of Evaluation of Internal Controls

Accountant's Letter of Qualifications

Certification of Review of Audit Work Papers

Or If Fiscal Year End Within 180 days after fiscal year end
Audited Financial Statement, including:

Audited Financial Statement and Statement of Actuarial Opinion Submittal Form

Report of Evaluation of Internal Controls

Accountant's Letter of Qualifications

Certification of Review of Audit Work Papers

ACTUARIAL Submit one unsecured PDF (reference captive name and license # in file name)

Electronic Address:  DFR.CaptiveFinancialFilings@vermont.gov 

Certification of Loss Reserves and Loss Expense Reserves Certified By Vermont approved Actuary

Audited Financial Statement and Statement of Actuarial Opinion Submittal Form

If December 31 Year End Statement of Actuarial Opinion On or before 6/30
or If Fiscal Year End Statement of Actuarial Opinion Within 180 days after fiscal year end

PARENT/SPONSOR ANNUAL FINANCIAL 
STATEMENT

Submit one unsecured PDF (reference captive name and license # in file name) Due annually upon release

All Filers Electronic Address:  DFR.CaptiveFinancialFilings@vermont.gov 

(as of Parent company year-end)
Annual Financial Statements of ultimate controlling parent.  Note:  Foreign 
currency must be converted to US$ and statements marked as Private and 
Confidential, if applicable.

REINSURER AUDITED FINANCIAL 
STATEMENT

Submit one unsecured PDF (reference captive name and license # in file name) Due annually upon release

Approved Affiliated or Captive Approved Reinsurer 
Filers Only

Electronic Address:  DFR.CaptiveFinancialFilings@vermont.gov 

(as of Reinsurer year-end) Audited Financial Statement

https://www.myvtax.vermont.gov/_/

Electronic Submissions only (except license renewal fees).  See filing address per filing type.

This checklist is not inclusive of all Vermont DFR regulatory requirements; The Commissioner may require additional documents/filings as warranted.

** Please note that for our domestic filing due date references of "Prior to", for our purposes we interpret the date to be the same as would fall under our domestic filing due date reference 
"On or before".  Example:  If the Due date is Prior to March 15th, we consider the filing due date to be no later than March 15th, after which an extension would need to be requested.  If a 
statutory due date falls on a weekend or a public holiday, it would then fall as due by the next business day.   

*NOTE:  The Captive Insurance Premium Tax (CPT) returns and payments are to be filed no later than March 15th and are to be 
electronically filed and paid via the Vermont Department of Taxes online system

2022 FILING CHECKLIST FOR: Domestic Captives NOT filing an NAIC Statement 
 Agency, Association, Branch, Industrial Insured, Pure and Sponsored

VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL REGULATION 89 MAIN STREET, MONTPELIER, VT  05620-3101 FOR QUESTIONS PLEASE CALL:  (802) 828-3304

https://dfr.vermont.gov/industry/captive-insurance
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/08/141
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/vermont-captive-annual-report-vcar-general-instructions
https://dfr.vermont.gov/industry/captive-insurance/applications-forms-and-lists
https://dfr.vermont.gov/industry/captive-insurance/applications-forms-and-lists
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/approved-cpas
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/audit-and-actuarial-submittal-form
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/cpa-certification-review-audit-work-papers
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/audit-and-actuarial-submittal-form
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/cpa-certification-review-audit-work-papers
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/approved-actuaries
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/audit-and-actuarial-submittal-form
https://www.myvtax.vermont.gov/_/

	Domestic 

