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Third-Party Administrator Rule FAQs

Does my organization need to get a Third Party Administrator License?

The Rule applies only to Third Party Administrators of life, annuity, health, or stop-loss
coverage, including tax-advantaged accounts for health-related expenses. Entities
administering other lines, including property and casualty, accident and sickness, long

term care, or workers’ compensation are not required to get licensed.

Does my organization still need to register with the Green Mountain Care Board?Yes.

Under 18 V.S.A. § 9410 and, GMCB Rule 8.000, TPAs operating in Vermont, defined as

“any person who, on behalf of a health insurer or purchaser of health benefits, receives
or collects charges, contributions or premiums for, or adjusts or settles claims on or for
residents of this State or Vermont health care providers and facilities[,]” are required to

register with the Green Mountain Care Board by December 31 of each year. For entities

that are not required to be licensed as a TPA under the Rule, registration with the Green
Mountain Care Board satisfies the annual registration requirement in Section 14.

For more information, please see Registration Information For Third-Party

Administrators on the |Green Mountain Care Board website.‘

Where can I find the application forms?

Application forms can be found on the Department website.

When will the first annual report come due?
Because the requirement for licensure is not effective until July 1, 2022, the first annual
report will be due July 1, 2023. For newly licensed entitles thereafter, the first annual

report will be due on July 1 of the year following initial licensure.

Where do I submit application forms and required reporting materials? Applications
forms can be emailed to the Company Licensing section at the Department:

DER.CompLic@Vermont.gov or sent to the following address:



https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/221/09410
http://gmcboard.vermont.gov/sites/gmcb/files/documents/Data%20Submission%20Rule%208.000%20%28Adopted%201.5.22%29.pdf
https://gmcboard.vermont.gov/content/registration-information-tpas
https://dfr.vermont.gov/document/vermont-third-party-administrator-annual-report-form

Department of Financial Regulation
Insurance Division - Company Licensing
89 Main Street

Montpelier, VT 05620-3101

6) What are the fees?
Under 18 V.S.A. § 9417(d) and Regulation 1-2021-01, TPAs making an initial application
for a license to operate in Vermont shall pay to the Commissioner a nonrefundable fee of
$600.00 for examining, investigating, and processing the application. The fee applies to
Resident and Non-Resident TPA’s. Each such entity shall also pay a renewal fee of
$600.00 on or before June 30th every three years following initial licensure.

7) How do I renew my organization’s license?

See #4 above
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