STATE OF VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL REGULATION

)	
IN RE: FREDLINE MATIEU)	DOCKET NO. 24-021-I
VT LICENSE # 3002675882)	
NPN # 17868629)	

DEFAULT JUDGMENT AND ORDER

I. <u>FINDINGS OF FACT</u>

- 1. Respondent Fredline Matieu ("Respondent") holds Vermont non-resident insurance adjuster license # 3002675882.
- 2. License # 3002675882 was initially issued on August 21, 2023 and expires on March 31, 2026.
 - 3. Respondent's resident state is Florida.
- 4. On or around March 27, 2023, Respondent was charged in the Second Judicial Circuit of Florida, Liberty County, with two felonies: trafficking in the controlled substance fentanyl and possessing fentanyl at a state correctional institution.
- 5. On February 26, 2024, Respondent entered into a plea agreement, pleading nolo contendere to the two felonies.
- 6. On February 26, 2024, the court entered a judgment in open court adjudicating Respondent guilty of the two felonies and sentencing Respondent to five years imprisonment, suspended upon successful completion of two years of community control followed by three years of probation ("Judgment").
- 7. On March 5, 2024, Respondent answered "no" to the following question on the renewal application for a Vermont non-resident insurance adjuster license. "Have you been convicted of a felony, had a judgment withheld or deferred, or are you currently

charged with committing a felony, which has not been previously reported to this insurance department?"

- 8. At no time prior to the application had Respondent reported to the Commissioner the Florida felony convictions identified in the Judgment.
- 9. On May 1, 2024 the Florida Department of Financial Services, as a result of Respondent's felony convictions, revoked Respondent's Florida insurance licenses, including Respondent's Florida resident insurance agent and adjuster licenses.
- 10. On October 4, 2024, the Insurance Division served upon Respondent the Petition for Revocation of License ("Petition") and Notice of Right to Request Hearing ("Notice") filed in the above-captioned matter.
- 11. As of the effective date of this Default Judgment and Order, more than 30 days after service of the Petition and Notice, no answer, request for a hearing, or other defense to the Petition has been received from Respondent.
- 12. More than 10 days have passed since the Insurance Division filed a motion for default judgment in the above-captioned matter and served the motion on Respondent.

II. <u>CONCLUSIONS OF LAW</u>

- 13. Because Respondent failed to disclose Respondent's Florida felony convictions on Respondent's license renewal application, revocation of Respondent's Vermont non-resident insurance adjuster license is authorized pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 4804(a)(1).
- 14. Because Florida revoked Respondent's resident insurance licenses, including Respondent's resident insurance adjuster license, revocation of Respondent's

Vermont non-resident insurance adjuster license is authorized pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 4804(a)(2) and (10).

15. Because no answer, request for a hearing, or other defense to the Petition has been received from Respondent, and as more than 10 days have passed since the Insurance Division filed a motion for default judgment, the allegations contained in the Petition are treated as proven and a default judgment may be entered in the abovecaptioned matter pursuant to Sections 1.04(H) and (V) of the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation Administrative Procedures.

III. ORDER

16. Based on the findings of fact and conclusions of law set forth above, a default judgment is entered against Respondent, and it is hereby ordered that the non-resident insurance adjuster license # 3002675882 of Respondent Fredline Matieu is revoked, effective immediately.

IV. RIGHT TO APPEAL

17. This Default Judgment and Order exhausts all administrative remedies available within the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation. Respondent may appeal this Default Judgment and Order to the Vermont Supreme Court by filing a notice of appeal with the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation Docket Clerk and the Vermont Supreme Court within 30 days after the date of this Default Judgment and Order, in accordance with 8 V.S.A. § 16, 3 V.S.A. § 815, and the Vermont Rules of Appellate Procedure.

[Signature page follows]

Dated at Montpelier, Vermont this 3rd day of December 2024

By: Ewin Gaffney

Kevin J. Gaffney

Commissioner of Financial Regulation
Vermont Department of Financial Regulation