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STATE OF VERMONT ]
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL REGULATION

VT License No. 84088

)

IN RE: John P. Gutschlag, )
) DOCKET NO. 14-087-1
)

DEFAULT JUDGMENT AND ORDER

Findings of Fact

1. John P. Gutschlag (“Respondent™) is a licensed insurance producer, currently
holding Vermont Non-resident Insurance Producer License No. 84088.

2. On April 8, 2013, Respondent was indicted in the United States District Court
for the Western District of Virginia (Case No. 1:13-cr-00015-JPM, Dkt. No.5). The
indictment alleged that Respondent had "devised a scheme to defraud colleges and
universities, as well as students ... by providing false and fraudulent claims reports and
other misrepresentations designed to ... personally enrich John Paul Gutschlag, Sr., and
his confederates|.]"

3. In the indictment, the United States Attorneys Office for the District of
Virginia charged Respondent with multiple felonies, including racketeering, conspiracy,
wire fraud, mail fraud, money laundering, and a forfeiture claim.

4. On May 21, 2014, Respondent pled guilty to conspiracy to violate the
Racketeering Act and to two counts of money laundering by engaging in monetary
transactions involving property derived from wire and mail fraud, and was ordered to pay
$1.2 million in restitution.

5. On May 27, 2014, Respondent voluntarily surrendered his insurance license in

his home state of Texas.



6. On May 29, 2014, Respondent voluntarily surrendered his non-resident
insurance agent license in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

7. On June 18, 2014, the Florida Department of Financial Services revoked
Respondent’s non-resident insurance producer license.

8. On September 17, 2014, the Idaho Department of Insurance revoked
Respondent’s non-resident insurance producer license.

9. On October 21, 2014, the Insurance Division (“Division™) served upon
Respondent the Petition for Revocation of License and Notice of Right to Request
Hearing in this action.

10. Respondent has not filed an answer to date.

11. The Division filed and served a Motion for Default Judgment on January 2,

2015.

Conclusions of Law

12. Respondent violated 8 V.S.A. § 4804(a)(3) by not complying with the
insurance laws of Vermont or those of another state, including the laws of Virginia,
Texas, Florida and Idaho; and for failing to report the administrative actions including the
aforementioned revocations within 30 days pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 48130 (a).

13. Respondent violated 8 V.S.A. § 4804(a)(5) by converting to his own use
moneys belonging to others in the course of his insurance business.

14. Respondent violated 8 V.S.A. § 4804(a)(7) for conviction of a felony

involving moral turpitude.



15. Respondent violated § 4804(a)(9) for using fraudulent, coercive or dishonest
practices or showing himself in the conduct of his affairs to be incompetent,
untrustworthy or financially irresponsible.

16. Respondent violated § 4804(a)(10) since his producer license(s) have been
surrendered, suspended, or revoked in other states, including in Virginia, Texas, Florida
and Ildaho.

17. Respondent’s violations of 8 V.S.A. §§ 4804(a)(3), (5). (7), (9) and (10)
subjects Respondent to suspension or revocation in the State of Vermont. 8 V.S.A. §
4804(a) provides that the Commissioner may suspend, revoke or refuse to continue or
renew any license issued under Chapter 131 of Title 8 if; after notice and opportunity for
hearing, she finds that the Respondent is in violation of one or more applicable conditions
listed under § 4804 (a).

18. Pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 15 the Commissioner may issue orders necessary to the
administration of and to carry out the purposes of Title 8 of the Vermont Statutes.

19. Respondent, pursuant to Section 5(a) of Regulation 82-1 (Revised)
(“Regulation 82-17), was required to file an answer no later than 30 days after the date of
service of the petition in this contested case.

20. Section 12 of Regulation 82-1 provides that where a Respondent, against
whom a pleading initiating a contested case has been properly served, fails to answer
within the time period specified in Section 5(a) or fails to defend the charge, the
Petitioner may move for a decision by default. The Commissioner may render a decision
by default at any time after the passage of ten days from the date of filing and service of

the motion for default, whereupon the Commissioner may issue any applicable order.



21. Section 5(b) of Regulation 82-1 provides that if a Respondent fails to
serve an answer timely, the allegations contained in the pleading that initiated the
contested case will be treated as proven and a default judgment may be entered as
provided in Section 12 of this regulation.

22. Respondent has failed to respond to the Division’s Motion for Default
Judgment and ten (10) days has passed since the time of the filing and service of the

motion.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED THAT:

1. A Default Judgment is entered against Respondent pursuant to Section 12 of
Regulation No. 82-1 and a decision by default is rendered.

2. The non-resident producer license of John P. Gutschlag #84088, is revoked,
effective immediately.

3. Respondent shall, pursuant to 8 V.S.A. § 4806, forthwith deliver his license to

the Department.

Dated at Montpelier, Vermont this 5" day of March, 2015.
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Susan L. Donegan, Commissioyér d

Vermont Department of Financfal Regulation



