Skip to main content

Sales Finance Company

State of Vermont participates in the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS).  All applications for a sales finance license must be submitted through NMLS.


Annual Report of Licensee for YE 12/31/2023 is now in electronic form. Due April 1, 2024.

Frequently Asked Questions

Vermont Related/Referenced Statutes and Regulations

Who is required to have this license?

Any company or person who purchases one or more retail installment contracts from one or more retail sellers located in Vermont.
Each location, whether located in Vermont or not, desiring to act as a sales finance company must obtain a separate license.

Who does not need this license?

The following is a partial list of exceptions.  For a complete list of exceptions, please refer to 8 V.S.A. § 2201(d)

  • a  depository institution [see the definition of “depository institution” in 8 V.S.A. § 11101(32)]
  • an insurance company
  • a seller of goods or services that finances the sale of such goods or services, other than a residential mortgage loan
  • a person who takes one or more retail installment contracts as a security for a loan or loans.
What are the fees?

Initial Application:

$800.00 (includes a $350.00 Licensing Fee, a $350.00 Investigation Fee; and the $100 NMLS processing fee)

Additional Applications:

Branch licenses - $720.00 (includes a $350.00 Licensing Fee, a $350.00 Investigation Fee, and $20.00 NMLS processing fee)


  • Corporate licenses - $450.00 (Includes $100 NMLS processing fee)
  • Branch licenses - $370.00 (Includes $20 NMLS processing fee)
  • Change in Address: $100.00
What are the prerequisites for license application?
  • Bond amount: Not required.
  • Registered Agent recorded with the Vermont Secretary of State.