Skip to main content

Councils and Commissions

The Department of Financial Regulation, at times, serves on a public council, commission, or other public agency as a subject-matter expert on financial regulation. Adhering to Vermont open meeting laws, the Department will provide notice and document these public meetings as required. 

Vermont Educational Health Benefits Commission

The commission was established in June 2017 to determine whether and how to establish a single statewide health benefit plan for all teachers, administrators, and other employees of supervisory unions and school districts. The commission submitted the report below to the Legislature on December 18, 2017. 

Commission Members
  • David Provost, Chair 
  • Jean Kelty, Executive Assistant 
  • Michael Pieciak, Commissioner of Financial Regulation 
  • Diane Lewis, Executive Assistant
  • Paulette O'Bryan, Executive Assistant
  • Kaj Samsom, Commissioner of Taxes 
  • Jeff Fannon, Executive Director of Vermont NEA 
  • David Van Deusen, Staff Representative 
  • Nicole Mace, Executive Director, Vermont School Boards Association
  • Jeff Francis, Executive Director, Vermont Superintendents Association
  • Barbara Griffin, One non-legislator member appointed by the Speaker
  • George Cross, One non-legislator member appointed by the Senate Committee on Committees

Data Brokers Working Group

The Department of Financial Regulation and the Attorney General’s Office released a joint Data Broker Working Group Report, as required by Act 66 of 2017. The report recommends that the Legislature consider several potential actions and proposes a legislative definition of the term “data broker.”  

A variety of related documents are available on the Attorney General’s website.