Auto Damage Appraiser

License Requirements

Vermont Law defines an Appraiser to mean, any person who, for compensation, appraises the loss or damage under policies of automobile insurance on the behalf of the insurers under such policies. A license as an appraiser will not be required of an official or employee of a Vermont domiciled fire or casualty insurance company or of a duly licensed resident insurance producer of a licensed insurer who is authorized by such insurer to appraise losses under policies issued by such insurer. A license will not be required of an automobile repair shop or repair facility which makes an appraisal at the request of the insured or insurer. See Title 8, §4791.

In order to obtain an Appraiser license an applicant must be at least 18 years of age; must be deemed to be competent, trustworthy and financially responsible; have passed a written examination; meet an experience requirement and submit a license application and fees. The experience requirement may be satisfied in three different ways:

  • The applicant possesses two years’ experience in handling of loss appraising.
  • The applicant has undergone special training of sufficient duration and scope to make him/her competent to fulfill the responsibilities of the license. A person seeking to have special training recognized should submit a detailed description of the training, including syllabi, curriculum and training material.
  • The applicant is employed by and subject to the immediate personal supervision of a licensed appraiser who is licensed in Vermont and who has been licensed for not less than three years next preceding the date of application for the license.

For further information, see Title 8, §4803.

Note: All applicants must satisfy an examination requirement in order to be licensed. If a nonresident has not taken an examination, or resides in a state that does not require a license examination, the applicant can either:

  • Submit a letter of certification from another state where the applicant did take an examination and is currently licensed, or
  • Take and pass the Vermont Appraisers examination and submit the original test score report with the application.

Other Information

How to Apply for a License

Nonresident Application

  • Nonresident Appraisers who hold a Resident Appraiser license in their resident state can apply electronically using NIPR.
  • Complete the online application process and pay the relevant fees.
  • Attachment #2 is no longer required for electronic submissions.
    • If your application is routine, and does not require any additional information, the license is generally issued within 48 hours.
    • If your application is not routine, you will be notified on-line that additional information must be submitted directly by you to the department. All additional information that must be submitted is outlined on the application, and can be faxed to 802-828-1633. Your license application will be reviewed after all required information has been received.

Resident Application

  • Apply Online:
    • Resident Appraiser applicants can apply electronically using NIPR.
    • Complete the online application process and pay the relevant fees.
    • Attachment #2 is no longer required for electronic submissions.
      • If your application is routine, and does not require any additional information, the license is generally issued within 48 hours.
      • If your application is not routine, you will be notified on-line that additional information must be submitted directly by you to the department. All additional information that must be submitted is outlined on the application, and can be faxed to 802-828-1633. Your license application will be reviewed after all required information has been received.
  • Submit Paper Application

How to Renew Your License

The Auto Damage Appraiser License term is April 1st to March 31st of odd years. The department will send out renewal notices for existing licensees at the beginning of the odd year. Note: license fees are not prorated and the license term is fixed, regardless of time of application.

Submit your renewal using the third party vendor services of NIPR. Once online, please use the following criteria below to find your license renewal. 

  • Choose renew your license; 
  • Enter your resident state; and
  • Enter your resident state license number.

Licensees who renew using NIPR, and need a copy of a printed license, there is a $5.50 charge to print the license copy from SIRCON.

Note: DFR does not send out a renewed license. A licensee can confirm that their license has been renewed or issued, by checking their License Status Here you can print a copy of your license information for your records at no cost. The department does not require a licensee to possess a paper copy of their license.

Paper Renewals

Paper renewals are only accepted if the electronic renewal option is not available for your license type listed above, or you have requested, and been granted a Hardship Exception to the electronic processing. At the bottom of this page you will find the NAIC Uniform Renewal/Continuation Application. Checks should be made payable to the VT Dept of Financial Regulation. All paper renewal applications must be in our office prior to March 31, 2019. For answers to additional questions, send an email to dfr.producerlicensing@vermont.gov. Please be sure to provide a telephone number where we can contact you.

Submit to: 

Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
Insurance Division – Producer Licensing
89 Main Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-3101
(802) 828-3303 Telephone
(802) 828-1633 Fax

FAQs

What is an Appraiser?
What is the license term?
Does Vermont require Continuing Education for Appraisers?
Does an Appraiser have specific record keeping requirements under Vermont law?
Can an Appraiser investigate or negotiate the settlement of insurance claims?
Who should I contact with license questions?


What is an Appraiser?

An Appraiser is any person who, for compensation, appraises the loss or damage under policies of automobile insurance on the behalf of the insurers under such policies. A license as an appraiser will not be required of an official or employee of a domestic fire or casualty insurance company or of a duly licensed resident insurance producer of a domestic or duly admitted foreign insurer who is authorized by such insurer to appraise losses under policies issued by such insurer. A license will not be required of an automobile repair shop or repair facility, which makes an appraisal at the request of the insured or insurer.

What is the license term?

The license term is April 1st to March 31st of even years. The department will send out renewal notices for existing licensees at the beginning of the even year. Note: license fees are not prorated and the license term is fixed, regardless of time of application.

Does Vermont require Continuing Education for Appraisers?

No.

Does an Appraiser have specific record keeping requirements under Vermont law?

Yes. Each Appraiser shall keep at the address shown on the license a record of all transactions under the license. The record shall include:

  • A copy of all appraisals undertaken or consummated.
  • A statement of any fee, commission or other compensation received or to be received by the Appraiser for such appraisal.
  • Appraiser shall make such records available for examination by the commissioner at all times, and shall retain the records for at least three years.
Can an Appraiser investigate or negotiate the settlement of insurance claims?

No. An Appraiser cannot investigate or negotiate the settlement of claims. An insurance adjuster license would be required in that instance.

Who should I contact with license questions?

For answers to additional questions that have not been addressed in the FAQs above, send an email to dfr.producerlicensing@vermont.gov please be sure to provide a telephone number where we can contact you.

Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
Insurance Division – Producer Licensing
89 Main Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-3101
(802) 828-3303 Telephone
(802) 828-1633 Fax

Contact Information

Department of Financial Regulation
Commissioner Michael Pieciak
89 Main Street, Montpelier, VT 05620 - 3101
802-828-3301

Public Information
For public records, media inquiries, and press releases visit our Public Information web page

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon

 

 

 

 

Employee Information